DemoSite HB Enviro Centre

Hawke's Bay 

Meet our Trustees

John Adams - Chair

John has been involved with the Environment Centre for three years since he moved here from the South Island. John and his family routinely bike to work and school, grow their own veggies and bake their own bread. About half of the electricity they use comes from solar panels on the roof. John has advocated for systemic change in his workplaces and via groups such as He works as a health promoter in and around schools.

Jake Brookie

Jake has a background in environmental education and works with schools and clubs to help raise awareness of our region's rivers, lakes and coast. As a Trustee, he hopes to raise awareness of the Centre's  role in the community.

Sarah Walker - Treasurer

Sarah Walker has a background in Biomedical Science and now works a Chartered Accountant.

She has a passion for the environment, driving an electric car and always has a keep cup in her hand!

She tries to grow as much organic fruit, veges, eggs and meat as she can with her husband and children on their farm in Pukehou, CHB.

She has governance experience with the HB Breast Cancer Trust and is on the NZ Council for Chartered Accountants Australia New Zealand.

Rebecca Ashcroft - Cullen

Rebecca joined the board in 2019. She is passionate about sustainability and reducing our impact on our whenua. She has a background in communications.

Dr. Andrew Phillips

Andy works in health and is passionate about sustainable living to protect our communities from the impact of climate change.

Jamie Thompson

Jamie has a background in agriculture and horticulture. As Project Manager in the rural sector, he is focused on finding solutions to reduce the environmental impacts of agriculture whilst maintaining productivity. Passionate about waste minimisation and sustainability, he works to lead by example by ‘walking the talk’.

Marie Fleming

Marie is a registered architect who has been working in building sustainability for most of her career. She has volunteered for the Environment Centre as a Waste Warrior, supported Green Drinks and hosted an event for Sustainable Backyards. In 2018 she established the Sustainable Building Hawkes Bay group.  Her family tries to be a sustainable as possible and are often likened to ‘the Good Life’ TV programme.

Marion Thomson

Marion has been involved with the Centre for a long time and was one of the founding Trustees. Photo pending.

Sarah Knight

Information pending.